Posted by: kwa0430 | May 22, 2009

And the fun begins

It’s not that I’m impatient, but when I have a project to do, and all the stuff to do it is at hand, I like to get started. So, last night Jane and I started our adventure with putting up the stone veneer.

So far, so good…sort of. We took all the boards off in front of the kitchen and, much to my surprise, the wood underneath is still OK. The felt paper is up and one sheet of metal lathe is in place.

It does look like I’m going to need to do some plumbing though. The tap just doesn’t look like it is going to extend out far enough. It looks like it was a hack job when it was installed so it may be a pain getting it off. I need to remove the tap, extend the pipe about three inches and then solder on a new tap. So much for never doing plumbing again. (Memories of the bathroom redo are still too vivid)

Also, the boards extended down a little further than I had thought. When I removed them, it turns out that they extended beyond the wood backing and lay over the concrete block by about 4 to 6 inches. It’s not major, but it does mean I’ll need to attach some metal lathe to concrete. Out comes the drill and concrete bit. Oh well.

Most importantly, I bough beer last night. I explained to Jane that it is a vital component of a summer outdoor project such as this. You need it to either celebrate the end of the job, or to drown your sorrows when you get to the point where you realize you’re screwed.

Kenadian

Leave a Reply

Categories

