Posted by: kwa0430 | February 20, 2009

Catching Up

Well, it’s been a little while since I posted: mainly because things have been rather busy.

Joe MacIntyre - Stepfather - FriendMy stepfather, Joe, passed away on February 7th, so Jane and I flew to Canada and didn’t get back until the 22nd. Joe was brought up Catholic and had wanted a full funeral mass. The priest who officiated was awesome and, all bias aside, the funeral was one of the nicest I have ever been to.

Now we are taking care of some of the aftermath with mom. It amazes me just how much paperwork etc. needs to be done. She’s pretty tired after months of caring for Joe and isn’t used to sleeping through for a straight 8 hours. Thankfully, my brother and nephew are with her to help out and keep her company.

With being away, it also meant that I missed one night of class. One wouldn’t think that missing one class was a big deal: it is. I’m looking forward to a weekend of lots of homework. I have a few hours of writing to do, some reading, and then more writing. On the subject of school, Jane missed a test while we were away. She wrote it on the Tuesday after we returned; still tired and drained. Turns out she got an “A” on it anyway. She also has piles of homework this weekend. It looks like we will be exciting company for each other.

On to other things: eyes. I got a prescription for contact lenses this week and I’m trying to get used to them. So far I’ve managed to get over the weird sensation that comes with sticking your finger in your eye when trying to insert/remove the lenses.  For the first couple of attempts all I could hear was my mother’s voice in the back of my head saying: “Don’t do that or you’ll poke your eye out”.

As for home projects, Jane and I started to put down a wood floor in our upstairs living room. It’s about 90% complete and finishing it is on the “To Do” list for this weekend. Putting down laminate flooring is easy but removing the old carpeting first was one of the nastiest jobs ever. It makes me wonder, after seeing all the crap in the under-pad, why anyone would ever want carpeting in their home. GROSS!!!

Well, that’s it for now.

Kenadian

Leave a Reply

Categories

