Posted by: kwa0430 | December 16, 2008

Momentary lapse in judgement

So, this past weekend Jane and I had family over for a bit of a Christmas celebration. This included a dinner that consisted of veggies, mashed popatoes with smoked gouda cheese and a new york strip roast.

I wanted to do something with a bit of flare when serving dinner so I had decided on serving the roast flambeed. No problem, done it plenty of times before. When I do this, I heat the brandy in a glass and then lite it and pour it over the meat.

Now for the lapse in judgement part. For some reason, this time when I did this, I grabbed a plastic glass. As I poured the brandy over the meat, my hand became progressively hotter until I dropped the glass. The result was a beautiful blue flame on the meat platter as well as the rest of the kitchen counter. (Note to self – when flying around in the kitchen, double think what you’re doing before playing with fire)

Fortunately, no damage occured and dinner went off without any further hitches and nobody knew what I had done.

Kenadian

Responses

  1. Great. I’m going to have to take over all risky kitchen tasks now in addition to just pouring the burning hot coffee.

    And to think I let you help install the stove….. 😉

  2. Fortunately, no damage occured and dinner went off without any further hitches and nobody knew what I had done………

    UNTIL NOW!

  3. Dude–

    Just found your blog. Fun stuff. Glad you didn’t burn the house down. Got time for lunch this week???


Leave a Reply

Categories

