Posted by: kwa0430 | November 6, 2008

A Price on Democracy?

“Coleman has declared himself the victor in the race and said Wednesday that Franken should consider stepping aside.” (Kare11 http://www.kare11.com/news/news_article.aspx?storyid=528970&catid=2 )

So, Senator Coleman thinks that Mr. Franken should simply concede and avoid the recount.  An easy position to take when you are apparently in the lead, even if it is by the slimmest of margins. I’m sure that Senator Coleman is only looking out for MN taxpayers. Such an altruistic person.  After all, it apparently may cost roughly 3 cents per vote to do the recount. I suppose that is a rather steep price for democracy.

Not being an American citizen yet, I wasn’t able to vote in this election however, considering Senator Coleman’s position that he has taken regarding the recount, I sincerely hope that it is eventually determined that Mr. Franken is the winner. Not that I have any great respect for Al, but Senator Coleman’s apparent disdain for ensuring that the will of the people is determined and the accuracy of the vote is proven  (not to mention it is State law given the close race), I can hardly think he could be trusted in office. (I know….Al would likely act the same way, but that can only be an assumption and he is currenlty in second place)

I think a person of good character would want to ensure everything was verified and, regardless of the outcome, would wish to see the will of the voters recognized. In my humble opinion, Senator Coleman’s suggestion that Mr. Franken step down highlights a lack of character and is representative of the “what’s in it for me” attitude of so many of today’s politicians.

So, in the end I thank Senator Coleman for his sense of fiscal responsibility and his desire to save MN taxpayers the cost of the recount but, I personally think that democracy can never have a price tag attached to it. If Senator Coleman is willing to put a price on democracy, one wonders what else he is willing to put a price on.

Responses

  1. I guess you’ll get your answer regarding Coleman’s character if the audit and/or recount process ever swings the tally such that Franken is ahead.

    If that happens, I’m quite sure there will be plenty of people reminding Coleman that for the ‘good of the state’ he really ought to just concede.

    Personally, I’d love to see that situation purely because of the humor value and because I’m absolutely confident that a professional politician like Coleman would have *some* weasel words ready to explain why it made sense for Franken to concede but not for him. (Probably something like “we’ve already spent all this money, the voters deserve to have the process completed.”)

    As to which one wins, I don’t see it as much of a win for the rest of us either way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

