Posted by: kwa0430 | October 11, 2008

Happy Thanksgiving !!!

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

 

For those of you reading this that are American, this weekend is when Thanksgiving is celebrated in Canada.  In Canada, Thanksgiving is meant to be a celebration of the harvest and a time to give thanks to God for His provision. It is not, as is the case in the here in the States, a celebration of the beginning of purchasing season in anticipation of Christmas.

 

It just makes more sense to have Thanksgiving in October. It is still warm enough to go out and enjoy a walk after dinner. Windows can be open while cooking. Although, I will admit that the American idea of 2 days off is better than in Canada. I’d love an extra day at this time of the year to get out hiking.

 

In researching this holiday I discovered that, in the States, the date set for this holiday was purely economic.

 

“Abraham Lincoln’s successors as president followed his example of annually declaring the final Thursday in November to be Thanksgiving. But in 1939, President Franklin D. Roosevelt declared that Thanksgiving would be the fourth Thursday of November rather than the last. With the country still in the midst of The Great Depression, Roosevelt thought this would give merchants a longer period to sell goods before Christmas. Increasing profits and spending during this period, Roosevelt hoped, would aid bringing the country out of the Depression.” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thanksgiving_(United_States))

 

I suppose in Canada we have more to be thankful for than being divested of our earnings by the likes of Target, Kohls etc.

 

In true holiday fashion, this weekend includes turkey dinner with all the fixings, family and …… a major disaster. As I write this, it is 11:30 a.m and I am awaiting the arrival of family and a PLUMBER. You see, this is the weekend that the main drain in the house decided to back up, something discovered at about 8 a.m.

 

So far I have stuffed the turkey, helped clean the house, used the wet-vac to pick up the water on the basement floor and called for emergency plumbing service.

 

I’m anticipating the arrival of family to coincide with the plumber. Timing really is everything. Perhaps I’ll get a discount if I offer the plumber a turkey leg.

 

If the plumber doesn’t arrive soon (before the family), I wonder how long they can keep their legs crossed. Maybe we can really do this pilgrim style…complete with a little privy out behind the pine trees in the backyard.

 

Oh well, I guess it could be worse. I don’t really want to think of how. This is bad enough. At least Jane and I are able to laugh through it and we really are looking forward to the girls/boyfriend/college friend coming over.

Well, I must go to see what else Murphy has in store for me today. Never a dull moment.

TTFN

Responses

  1. I for one don’t really participate in the day after Thanksgiving fleacing…due to my procrastic nature I often wait until a few days before Christmas to get my fleacing and in typical fashion I usually end up finding more things I wouild like to have.
    …did you have a plummers crack sighting? It may have ruined my dinner.


Leave a Reply

Categories

